SECTIONS

FIELD ERECTED STORAGE TANK SECTION

Chairman 
Paul Windham
Fisher Tank
chip@tankindustry.com

 

Staff Liaison 
Wayne Geyer

wgeyer@steeltank.com

847-438-8265 x234

All Field Erected Storage Tank Section members are invited to participate in Section meetings.

Role:  Reviews industry codes, produces standards and educational courses, and judges Tank of the Year and Century Club Awards.

STEEL WATER PIPE SECTION

Chairman 
Vic DeGrande
Ameron Water Transmission Group

vic.degrande@nov.com

  Staff Liaison 
Wayne Geyer
wgeyer@steeltank.com
847-438-8265 x234

All Steel Water Pipe Section members are invited to participate in Section meetings.

Role: Reviews industry codes, produces standards and educational materials, and administers the Pipe Certification program.

PRESSURE VESSEL &  SPECIAL FABRICATED PRODUCTS SECTION

Chairman 
Robby Hagemann
Boardman, LLC
rhagemann@boardmaninc.com


  Staff Liaison 
Wayne Geyer
wgeyer@steeltank.com
847-438-8265 x234

Role: Reviews issues important to pressure vessel manufacturers. Hosts annual Fall Conference.
SHOP FABRICATED ATMOSPHERIC TANK SECTION

Chairman 
Coby Hayes
J. Houston Co.
coby@jlhoustonco.com

 

  Staff Liaison 
Lorri Grainawi
lgrainawi@steeltank.com
847-438-8265 x244
Role: Reviews industry codes, produces standards and educational materials, administers licenses for fabricators to build STI tank technologies, and provides quality assurance and training programs.

COMMITTEES

TECHNICAL COMMITTEE

Chairman

Coby Hayes 

J.L. Houston Co.

coby@jlhoustonco.com

 

Staff Liaisons 

Lorri Grainawi 

lgrainawi@steeltank.com

847-550-3831
Dana Schmidt
dschmidt@steeltank.com

847-550-3832

Role:  Institutes and monitors all technical R&D activities, studies and surveys for the shop fabricated atmospheric tank section, enforces quality control standards and reviews, evaluates and researches technical data and specifications.
FINANCE COMMITTEE

Chairman 
Jimmy Jones

Modern Welding Co. Inc.

jejones@modweldco.com

 

Staff Liaison 
David Reed
dreed@steeltank.com
847-550-3830

Role: Oversees all investments of STI/SPFA, recommends the annual operating budget and analyzes quarterly financial statements.
MEETING PLANNING COMMITTEE

Chairman 
Humberto Guglielmina

TECSA S.A. de C.V.

humberto@tecsatanks.com

 

Staff Liaisons 
Cindy Born
cborn@steeltank.com

847-550-3834

Role:  Organizes Annual Meeting and Fall Conference program, speakers and events.
 
AFFILIATE MEMBERS COMMITTEE

Chairman
Ed McCarthy

Samuel, Son & Co. Ltd.

ed.mccarthy@samuel.com

410-234-2828 

 

Staff Liaison 
Katie Bruce
kbruce@steeltank.com
847-550-3833

All Affiliate Members are invited to participate on this committee.

Role: Makes recommendations on issues of importance to suppliers, annual meeting speakers, sponsorship and displays, and increasing attendance.

SAFETY & HEALTH COMMITTEE

Chairman
Greg Anderson

Kennedy Tank & Mfg. Co.

ganderson@kennedytank.com

 

Staff Liaison
Dana Schmidt
dschmidt@steeltank.com
847-550-3832
 

Consultant
Jerome Spear

All Members involved in Safety programs are invited to participate on this committee.
Role: Creates and provides education and training, administers the Safety Awards program, tracks OSHA regulatory developments, and participates in industry codes and standards bodies. 

SP001 AST INSPECTION STANDARD COMMITTEE

Chairman

Sonny Underwood

Mid-South Steel Products

sonny@midsouthsteel.com

  Staff Liaison
Dana Schmidt
dschmidt@steeltank.com
847-5509-3832

Committee members are STI/SPFA members, regulators, tank owners/operators, industry service providers, and inspectors.

Role: Makes recommendations regarding the inspection standard for atmospheric, above ground fuel storage tanks.

STRATEGIC PLANNING COMMITTEE

Chairman
Sonny Underwood

Mid-South Steel Products

sonny@midsouthsteel.com

 

Staff Liaison 
Wayne Geyer
wgeyer@steeltank.com
847-550-3829

Role: Provides recommendations to the Board regarding planning for the future of the organization.

SP031 AST REPAIR STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Chairman  
Sonny Underwood

Mid-South Steel Products

sonny@midsouthsteel.com

  Staff Liaison
Dana Schmidt
dschmidt@steeltank.com
847-550-3832

Committee members are STI/SPFA members, regulators, tank owners/operators, industry service providers, and inspectors.


Role: Makes recommendations for the repair standard for steel fabricated above ground fuel storage tanks.